Daily Archives: January 24, 2008

But can the brotha DANCE?

It’s a well-known fact that I can’t dance. Well, okay, I can dance, just awkwardly, drunkenly, shamefully or Caucasian-ly. Or all four at once.

But … can Bill Clinton dance? (Remember, this is the man that Toni Morrison said was “our first black president, blacker than any actual black person who could ever be elected in our children’s lifetime”)

More importantly, can he dance well enough to satisfy Barack Obama?

During a Democratic presidential debate on Monday, Obama was asked about Morrison’s famous description of the former president.

“I have to say that, you know, I would have to, you know, investigate more of Bill’s dancing abilities. You know, and some of this other stuff before I accurately judge whether he was in fact a brother,” Obama said.

I am shocked that The Associated Press didn’t spell ‘brother’ with an ‘a’ when recording his quote. I thought we were all supposed to be doing everything in our power as members of the media to ensure Obama is presented as African American as as humanly possible?

I also propose that we settle this with a dance-off. Not the Bill-Barack debate, the entire presidential primary. Best dancer in each party gets the nomination. What kind of rug do you think Mike Huckabee can cut?

Leave a comment

Filed under Media, Obamamania, Politics, Random Stuff