This is NOT ‘The World I Know’

So … rather than Marilyn Manson, NIN, Slayer and that long list of bands that I named last time because they are bands that always get named when someone goes batshit crazy and kills people … Cho Seung Hui, whose name will live on in infamy exactly the way he wanted when he pulled this shit, is apparently a big Collective Soul fan. This is — to put it mildly — an unexpected turn of events.

It seems I was right about almost everything else —though I’m in no way alone on that one. Hui was lonely, undersexed, dumped, enamoured with weapons and violence, was using handguns and was clearly looking for fame, judging by the “multimedia manifesto” he sent to NBC news in between his two shooting rampages.

But the Collective Soul thing?! Well, suffice to say they weren’t a popular pick in the band-that-gets-to-take-the-heat-for-mass-murder pool…

(As a side note, does this mean we can campaign to ban Collective Soul now? Because that would be kind of cool, except that I think they banned themselves about five years ago, at least from my stereo.)

Two roommates of Virginia Tech gunmen Cho Seung-Hui told CNN’s Gary Tuchman on Tuesday night that the 23-year-old English major listened to a lot of Zeppelin and Nirvana on his laptop, but he mostly played the same song over and over again: Collective Soul’s “Shine,” the 1993 release off of the Hints Allegations and Things Left Unsaid album.

Zeppelin and Nirvana? Not exactly psychopathic murdering bands, but at least angry and depressing enough, at times, to enable one to understand how a terminal nutjob could take solace in some of their anthems. Lord knows Paige and Plant were lost in their own worlds of drug-induced imagery, and poor Kurt was only miserable enough to take out himself …

But seriously, though … Collective-fucking-Soul? This is from the band’s wikipedia entry:

  • Some have called Collective Soul a Christian rock band, a styling the band has repeatedly denied … They do, however, acknowledge that their lyrics are often spiritual and introspective in nature
  • Their main influences include Elvis Presley, Elton John, The Cars and The Beatles as well as many 1980s new wave bands.
  • The band’s name comes from a term in part 4, chapter 11 of Ayn Rand’s book The Fountainhead.

Nothing says, ‘I’ll turn on you all with a handgun someday’ quite like naming your rock band after a passage from an Ayn Rand book. And just look at them — these guys are clearly minions of Satan:

See? All black! It doesn’t get any darker than that! And they all look so … so … nonplussed about their status as Demonic Musical Gods. It’s kind of creepy, in a we’re-too-cool-and-evil- looking-for-your-alternative-radio-station’s-playlist sort of way

As we continue down the dark and treacherous path first traversed by Ed Roland, Dean Roland, Joel Kosche, Will Turpin and Ryan Hoyl, then by millions of fans of adult-pop radio, and — finally, as no one else has voluntarily listened to this song for six years — by this sick, twisted, sociopathic killer, we will undoubtedly find many hidden messages urging us to act on the Evil That Dare Not Show Its Face inside these crisp, tender, fried-chicken-esque nuggets of pop-rock goodness.

So let’s begin, shall we? Are you ready to travel inside the mind of a killer’s favourite radio-friendly rock band? Dim the lights and put down that razorblade, it’s….

Shine by Collective Soul (1993)

Give me a word
Give me a sign
Show me where to look
Tell what will I find ( will I find )

Ummm … some sort of demon?

Lay me on the ground
Fly me in the sky
Show me where to look
Tell me what will I find ( will I find )

It’s so damned frustrating when you are looking high and low for something and you just cannot find it anywhere. I had this same problem when I could not locate my half-finished bottle of Jack Daniel’s after watching the Red Wings-Flames game last night. I looked everywhere, and my roomates were no help. I am now looking for new roomates…

Oh, heaven let your light shine down (x4)

Love is in the water
Love is in the air
Show me where to go
Tell me will love be there ( love be there )

No! No love will be there! Clearly the song is taunting the listener, likening love to that elusive bottle of Jack Daniel’s that remains hidden despite your desperate pleas for it to reveal itself to you. And NO! Nobody ever shows you where to go, nor can they tell you if it will be there. You have to find out for yourself. And if the answer is ‘No,’ you have to seek revenge.

Teach me how to speak
Teach me how to share
Teach me where to go
Tell me will love be there ( love be there )
No matter how well you are taught, you will never know whether love will be there or not. Actually, wait, your love isn’t there. She’s two dormitories over, banging some new guy. While you sit at home with your dick in your hand. Now, ask yourself, ‘What would Collective Soul do about this untenable situation?’

Im going to let it shine (x2)
Heavens little light gonna shine on me
Yea yea heavens little light gonna shine on me
Its gonna shine, shine on me
Its gonna shine, come on in shine
Yeah … come on and shine, already. Jesus. And find my Jack Daniel’s while you’re at it. Do something useful, little light. Or else there will be repercussions.

And that’s it. That’s the whole song — in all its disturbing, troubling, murder-inducing glory. Can we make them stop playing it during all those retro shows on 102.1 now? ‘Cause I liked it back in the day, but now every time I hear it, these visions start dancing in my head and I begin to get The Fear and Terrible Urges and other compulsions that must be written with Capital Letters …

Seriously?! Collective Soul?! Well, we knew he was a crazy motherfucker….

6 Comments

Filed under Entertainment, Media, Random Stuff, Rants

6 responses to “This is NOT ‘The World I Know’

  1. D-Nice

    Comment on a VT student’s blog post about the massacre:

    “>Boston Herald Hi, I hope that you and Kate are
    >doing okay. I would love to chat with you about
    > this horrific event. I understand that phones are
    > not working well but maybe you can shoot me
    > an email.”

    Hey, I talk against the scumdogs of the infotainment industry whenever possible but THAT… is… just… awesome. You stay classy, journalism!

  2. I know what you’re saying D, but give ‘em a break.

    I would put up funds and guaran-damn-tee you that that post was made by some witless intern who was told to get student reaction or get fired …

    If you wanna get pissed at someone in this whole thing — get pissed at every network [except CBC] airing his manifesto video twelve times a day, giving this fuck EXACTLY what he wanted for his last earthly wish.

    (BTW, will I get fired if I call him a “Nappy-headed Cho” do you think?)

  3. D-Nice

    Yes, I should mention that most of my post seems to have been lifted from Gawker. And that someone on the aforementioned site was a lot wittier than I (as usual) to the effect that, “If they [the media] know they’re being manipulated by a psychopathic mass murderer from beyond the grave, I guess that makes it okay!”

  4. glenn

    u fuckin prick, aint u got nothin better to do? its just a song , its got fuck all to do with what happened , collective soul are awesome, an i dare say they dont give a shit what u think. it will always be remembered as a classic, cho probably listened to it a lot cus it rocks, it annoys me the way sad bastards try an blame bands an songs on shit like this, get a life

  5. Hey

    I was surfing the web and i saw this site, pretty cool.
    Currently im running and adult site:Reachton
    k, just want to say hi :)
    Can i link you from my site? im looking for quality content like yours. If no let me know if i can add u in exchange for a montly fee or something.

  6. Hey

    I was surfing the web and i saw this site, pretty cool.
    Currently im running and adult site:Reachton
    k, just want to say hi :)
    Can i link you from my site? im looking for quality content like yours. If no let me know if i can add u in exchange for a montly fee or something.

Leave a Reply

